Our school is steeped in history. It opened in 1911 with a total of 12 students. It is located in a beautiful location 10 kilometres north of Mossman, nestled amongst canefield, and next to Miallo Creek. The traditional owners of this land are the Guugu Yalanji people.
Application for the establishment of a state school at Miallo was made following a meeting of concerned parents on the 1st of August, 1910. A provisional school was granted, which meant that the parents were to provide a suitable building for a school. The first head teacher was Mrs Ethel Taylor, who was appointed on October 20, 1911. At this stage, washing and drinking water was carried by the students to school from Miallo Creek.
In 1925, the original corrugated iron dwelling used as the school and teacher's residence was replaced with a school building of one room with a verandah. This was extended to two rooms in 1932. In 1948, a fence was erected around the school to alleviate the problems of children playing near the creek. Electricity came to the school in 1958 and the late 1970s saw additional learning and staff spaces built.